Technical Advisory Group

TAG Participants

During the spring of 2022, the Climate Change Task Force convened a Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to advise on proposed climate actions. The charge of the TAG is to assess the climate goals and implementing actions proposed by the Climate Change Task Force (CCTF) to help New Mexico meet its 2030 emissions reduction goal while strengthening its economy and integrating equity principles into its climate planning.

The TAG reviewed the draft Climate Actions proposed by the CCTF, offered concrete ideas to strengthen them, and filled gaps in strategic approaches. The contracting facilitator summarized the work of the TAG in a final report available here. The CCTF is using considering the TAG recommendations as foundational for the development of a 5-year New Mexico Climate Action Plan.

Center for Civic PolicyJosué De Luna Navarro
City of AlbuquerqueKelsey Rader
Dairy Producers of New MexicoBeverly Idsinga
El Paso Electric CompanyRico Gonzales
EOG Resources, Inc.Patrick Padilla
Interwest Energy AllianceRikki Seguin
Kit Carson Electric CooperativeErin Dayl
Land of Enchantment Clean CitiesColin Messer
Los Alamos National Laboratory – Earth and Env. SciencesDr. Bill Carey 
Lucid Energy GroupMatt Eales
Native American Voter Alliance Education ProjectJoseph Hernandez
Navajo Nation Environmental Protection AgencyValinda Shirley
New Mexico Environmental Law CenterDr. Virginia Necochea
New Mexico Farm and Livestock BureauChad Smith
New Mexico Gas Co/EmeraGerald Weseen
New Mexico State University Forestry Research CenterDr. Owen Burney
New Mexico Sustainable Economy Advisory CommitteeJames Povijua
Pueblo Action AllianceJulia Bernal
Pueblo of San IldefonsoRaymond Martinez
Pueblo of Zuni Fish and WildlifeTammy Parker
Sierra Club Rio Grande ChapterCamilla Feibelman
Southwest Council of GovernmentsPriscilla Lucero
University of New Mexico Natural Resources and Environmental Law ClinicGabe Pacyniak
Western Resources AdvocatesCydney Beadles

Technical Advisory Group Public Informational Session

The New Mexico Climate Change Task Force (CCTF), chaired by the Secretaries of the New Mexico Environment Department and the New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department, together with members of the TAG, hosted a virtual public information meeting on Monday, July 18, 2022, at 4:30 p.m. At the meeting, the CCTF and TAG members shared the outcomes of the TAG process and presented highlights of proposed actions to combat climate change.

Technical Advisory Group Meeting Agendas and Summary

Additional Resources